Find Your Motivation

Nothing can prepare you for the last month of a college semester. Professors use the last month to try to cram everything that they have not covered yet, at the expense of our sleep and social lives. My month- scratch that- the last two weeks has been dragging on and yet, I’m still juggling two papers and a presentation at the moment. In the middle of all the chaos, I ventured with a friend to Citizens Bank Park, home of the Philadelphia Phillies, for College Media Night last Wednesday. It was an opportunity to hear a panel of broadcasters and public representatives talk and watch the Phillies play the Boston Red Sox. It was the perfect getaway and I was all for it.

Now before I continue, I should probably mention that I am a journalism major with a public relations minor at Temple University. Going to college in a city like Philadelphia offers endless opportunities for any and everything. I live for opportunities like College Media Night, especially when I also get to watch a Major League Baseball game right before my eyes. The Phillies aren’t my beloved Yankees, but it’s the closest I can get for now. I froze, almost to death, and left during the sixth inning of the game, but I left with more optimism than I arrived with. Hearing a panel of four people who are living out my dream was exactly the motivation I needed to finish this semester with a bang.

When you find yourself feeling worn out, exhausted, and even defeated, find something to take your mind off of it. Whether it’s a Phillies game or just a trip to the gym, it will help. Trust me.

I’m Kayla Nyree, and whatever will be, will be.

– Kay

Leave a Reply

