Get Involved

Making connections is not always as easy as it sounds. “Make connections” was third on the list of important college advice from my parents, only after “schoolwork comes first” and “don’t stray off campus by yourself.” I came to college knowing I wanted to be involved in a few organizations. Thanks to a fellow media student, I began attending meetings after winter break for the Temple Association of Black Journalists, or TABJ. I quickly grew to love the organization as the meetings continued. We discussed everything from the evolution of Black families on television to diversity on college campuses. These topics are not discussed on a daily basis and it was interesting to hear opinions from future media professionals like myself. By the end of this semester, I knew I wanted to be more involved.

Earlier this week, I officially became the Temple Student Government representative of TABJ. I couldn’t be more excited for this opportunity and I plan to be a valuable asset to the executive board. If there’s anything I regret looking back on freshman year, it would be that I didn’t attend organization meetings sooner.

When you find a group of people with similar interests as you, use it to your advantage. Not only can it provide countless job and internship opportunities, but the number of connections are endless. Step out your comfort zone and get involved!

I’m Kayla Nyree, and whatever will be, will be!

– Kay

Leave a Reply

