Quality Over Quantity

I remember my first day of school at Middle Smithfield Elementary. I was in third grade, decked out in clothes from Limited Too, and I wanted nothing more than to make friends. I had lived in Queens, NY up to this point so I knew moving to this small town that is nowhere on a Pennsylvania map would take some adjusting. I immediately started making friends, much sooner than I expected to. I called everyone my friend, even if we had only interacted once. I progressed through middle school still having that “I need to make more friends” mentality. By the time high school arrived, I slowly learned the difference between my friends and my acquaintances. Here I am, eleven years from that “popular” third grader, and I adore my small circle of friends.

It’s interesting how important popularity is throughout a good chunk of our lives. Thanks to 21st century society, we all grew up believing that happiness is relative to popularity. I’m here to tell you that is not the case. Not everyone deserves your friendship. Give your loyalty and love to those who will return it. Once you find those few people, I guarantee the quality will outweigh the quantity!

I’m Kayla Nyree, and whatever will be, will be!

– Kay

Leave a Reply

