Role Models

“Call Me Caitlyn.” I must admit I was shocked and a little confused when I saw the now-famous Vanity Fair cover. As you all know, social media exploded with mixed emotions after the cover was made public. I’ve read a number of conflicting opinions and they all caused me to be indifferent.

Over the years, I’ve been asked thousands of times who my role model is. It has always been difficult to pinpoint just one person who I look up to. In my personal life, the answer would be my mother. She has been my best friend and I wish to grow up to be even half the woman she is. As a matter of fact, I consider many of my family members role models, including aunts, grandparents, and cousins.

When it comes to celebrities, there aren’t many that I can truly call a role model for myself. The media enjoys nitpicking at the lives of reality TV stars instead of the humanitarians that attempt to make the world a better place. Being a media student myself, I can’t say that I always agree with this. I would rather hear about how Akon is providing electricity to millions of people in Africa than hear about Beyoncé’s grand announcement of her vegan diet. Don’t get me wrong, I love Queen Bey, but is that really worth an entire segment of news? It seems as though major news outlets are becoming desperate for younger viewers so they show more about pop culture than anything else.

I believe we all need a balance. We need to navigate through who are the celebrities here for pure entertainment and the well-respected role models.  Who are your real role models? That is for you to decide for yourself. I’m not here to tell you who to look up to, but I also believe there is a huge difference between having respect for a person and looking up to a person. Pay attention to the Akons, the Ellen DeGenereses, and the Angelina Jolies of the world. They are the ones really making the world a better place.

I’m Kayla Nyree, and whatever will be, will be!

– Kay

Leave a Reply

