Times are Quiet in the Sports World

The end of June marks the beginning of a drought for professional basketball, football, and hockey fans everywhere. SportsCenter no longer has daily highlights and analysis of the NBA’s biggest stars. Although the pro football season ended back in February, it seems the only news coming from the NFL revolves around the reigning Super Bowl Champions, the New England Patriots. As much as I love to know the latest gossip within the NFL and the NBA, it is only right that I shift my attention to the first sport that I grew to love, baseball. No, you did not read that wrong, I love baseball too! Nowadays, baseball seems to come third to basketball and football, maybe even fourth if you like hockey. Baseball was the first sport I loved growing up, mostly due to the fact that I played softball and my younger brother played baseball. Also, in my opinion, baseball is the easiest sport to learn. I understood the concept of outs and dropped third strikes much quicker than technical fouls and offsides. For these reasons, it is only right that I credit baseball as the sport that made me love other sports. The New York Yankees led me to become an all-around sports fan, especially a New York sports fan.

Being a fan of teams in a massive media market is not easy. These teams are under the microscope more than ever and are constantly expected to win. In the case of the Jets and the Knicks, the word “winning” hasn’t been in the same vicinity lately. I know that may sound harsh, but I’m not in denial about how poorly they have done. However, I do see a positive future for both teams, whether it takes two or eight seasons. So far, the Yankees have had a decent season with the retiring of Derek Jeter and the addition of Alex Rodriguez. It will be interesting to see if their success will continue after the All-Star break and into the postseason!

I love my teams, but it is important for me to stay on top of the sports world. I need to know the players on a hot streak, any trade rumors, and how the statistics stack up historically.

I dream of making a name for myself as a sports broadcaster and I won’t quit until I make it to the big leagues. Never stop learning until you’re the best at what you do!

I’m Kayla Nyree, and whatever will be, will be!

– Kay

Leave a Reply

