Stay Young

There is nothing more rewarding than seeing personal growth.

One of the most difficult parts about growing up is controlling the pace at which you grow. I can remember being in middle school wishing I was in high school and so on. I remember wanting to wear makeup because my friends were and my mom would always tells me to wait. I used to hate being driven everywhere in middle school so I couldn’t wait until the day I got my license. Truthfully, wanting to grow up sooner is normal.

Now, as a sophomore in college, a part of me wishes I could slow down. I’m turning 20 this weekend and I can honestly say there are mixed feelings. I love the fact that I’m a year closer to graduating, but that also means I’ll be in for a reality check after I get that diploma. People always tell me, “Enjoy your college years, they’ll be the best four years of your life,” and I believed it wholeheartedly.

However, I was not prepared for the crazy workloads, being involved in extracurricular clubs and activities, and trying to juggle all of that with a social life. Nothing could prepare for my sleeping habits to permanently be messed up. But you know what? It will all be worth it once I get my dream job.

To anyone who is still in high school, the best advice I can possibly give is to stay young for as long as you can. College is fun and all, but don’t let all the hype fool you. You’ll have time to be grown later, but for now, live for your age.

I’m Kayla Nyree, and whatever will be, will be!

  • Kay
Leave a Reply

