Yankees Baseball is Back!

Baseball is the first sport I grew to love.

Growing up in Flushing, New York, one would think I would be a New York Mets fan, but that’s not the case. Instead, I’m a fan of the Yankees, thanks to Derek Jeter and the fact that the Mets weren’t so great when I was younger. Here I am over 10 years later and the tables have turned.

Last week, the 2016 Major League Baseball season began and I was instantly an excited little kid again. During the offseason, the Yankees made some valuable moves the strengthen their bullpen and offense. The most notable move was the addition of shortstop-turned-second baseman Starlin Castro. He’s no gold glove Derek Jeter, but he has already broken a Yankee record in his first five games in pinstripes. He has eight RBI’s (runs batted in) and two home runs. In today’s win against the Detroit Tigers, Castro got his 1,000th hit, which is pretty impressive for the 26-year-old.

Although he is suspended for thirty games due to a domestic violence incident, relief pitcher Aroldis Chapman will definitely come in handy as the season progresses. He debuted in the league the same year as Castro (2010) and solidified himself as one of the best relief pitchers in the game. In 2011, he pitched the fastest pitch in MLB history with a 105.1 MPH fastball against the Pirates. He has appeared in four consecutive All-Star games and is the fastest pitcher to reach 500 strikeouts. In other words, I can’t brag enough about how nasty he is going to be on the mound once May 10th comes around.

With the new additions, I have to pay respects to the other valuable players on the roster. Alex Rodriguez, Mark Teixeira, Carlos Beltran, Jacoby Ellsbury, Brett Gardner, C.C. Sabathia…should I continue? We have a stacked roster full of newbies and veterans (but mostly veterans) who I think can easily take us to the playoffs. Now, for the sake of my sanity, I just have to pray that everyone can stay healthy for most of the season. Manager Joe Girardi has plenty of tools to work with, I just hope he uses them wisely.

I’m Kayla Nyree, and whatever will be, will be!

  • Kay
Leave a Reply

