Venting is the Best Medicine

There comes a time when your level of stress is too high for your normal relievers to work. That workout you do does nothing but make you sweaty. Going for a drive is more of a hassle than a relaxer. Making time for a nap makes you forget about it temporarily, but you wake up still feeling the same way. From experience, the best method to getting rid of that piled-up stress or frustration is to talk about it.

I am the type of person who will let all of my problems build up until I feel like I am going to explode. It is not something I would suggest, but I felt like constantly bothering people with my woes would be annoying for them. Truth is, that system does nothing but harm you in the long run. It’s time to put on your big girl/boy pants and turn to someone for help.

Here I am at 20-years-old making a conscious effort to move away from this. I set up a special kind of support system for myself, a special “dream team” if you will, that I can go to when I need to vent. This team includes people that possess three important qualities-

  • Trustworthy because you obviously don’t want your business out there. This is a trait that may be the most difficult to find, but we all should have at least one person in our lives that we trust with the world. Find that one person and keep them.
  • Reliable is important because you want someone who will be willing to take time out of their day to listen to what you have to say, even if it’s only for a minute or two. Being in college can make this one tough because everyone has conflicting schedules, but if that person really cares, they will make the time.
  • Last but not least, the person has to be understanding. It’s hard to vent to someone who has an opinion right off the bat. He/she has to be able to listen and provide honest feedback if you ask for it.

Talking has an amazing way of making you feel relieved. Create your own dream team and watch that weight be lifted off your shoulders.

I’m Kayla Nyree, and whatever will be, will be!

  • Kay
Leave a Reply

