Why Temple’s 2016 Draft Class is Special To Me

“With the 104th pick in the  2016 NFL Draft, the Baltimore Ravens select Tavon Young, defensive back, Temple.”

Young was the first football player from Temple to be drafted since Bernard Pierce, Evan Rodriguez, and Tahir Whitehead in 2012. Next came defensive tackle Matt Ioannidis with the 152nd pick by the Washington Redskins and Tyler Matakevich chosen by the Pittsburgh Steelers in the seventh round. These were the three to be drafted, but plenty more followed signing as undrafted free agents and offered tryouts for teams.

Wide receiver Robby Anderson and offensive lineman Kyle Friend will continue to be teammates on the New York Jets. Defensive back Brandon Shippen went as a free agent to Jets’ conference opponent Miami Dolphins.

Maybe I’m bias because I go to Temple, but I think this is quite an accomplishment since we were a Division I school that was barely on anyone’s radar just one year ago. Our football program has continued to get better with every recruiting class, every practice, and every game and I am proud to be a witness to it all.

It is an indescribable feeling to watch your classmates, people you’ve walked around campus with and socialized with, fulfill their dreams. They are the same athletes that I will continue to follow and hope to interview once I get that highly-coveted sports broadcast position. They are yet another reason I strive to reach my goals. If they can get to the NFL, I can get to that major sports network.

I’m Kayla Nyree, and whatever will be, will be!

  • Kay
Leave a Reply

