“No”.

“Rejection builds character.” It’s a quote that applies to every aspect of our lives, but we still get pissed off when we get rejected by that person or that job that you wanted oh so much. Well, getting rejected is not a bad thing. As a matter of fact, it could very well be one of the best things that could happen to you.

Recently, I applied and interviewed for an internship that I wanted with every ounce of my being. I knew I would be a perfect fit and I left the interview feeling super confident…but I was not chosen. It stung. I immediately wanted a do-over, but those are rarely given to us. Instead of letting myself sulk, I concentrated on two other internship opportunities that will be sizable additions to my resume down the road. I moved on and found bigger and better chances to become the best journalist I can be. Here I am loving the fact that I found the place where I belong- New York City.

The truth of the matter is everything happens for a reason. It may take dozens of “no’s” for you to finally get the “yes” that you want. I know one thing is for sure- that “yes” will feel more incredible than you could’ve ever imagined.

Oh and if that girl or guy has been curving you for a while now, it’s probably not meant to be.

I’m Kayla Nyree, and whatever will be, will be!

  • Kay

To read a letter to my fellow summer interns, click here

Leave a Reply

