Chef Curry, It’s Time For You to Get Cooked

So Game 4 was last night. For the Cavaliers, it was a chance to tie up the series, but they just couldn’t get the job done. Steph led the Warriors with 38 points in their important win, but the moment I was waiting for was off-the-court. I was waiting for the post-game remarks.

Finally, that moment happened when Chef Curry was asked about his new signature Under Armour sneakers. Since Wednesday, the “Chef Curry’s” have been given all kinds of names since a picture of them surfaced on Twitter. This is Under Armour’s promo picture of them.

chefcurrys
Photo courtesy of Under Armour.
I’ve seen them, I’ve tried not to judge them, but it all leaves me with one simple question- Steph, WHAT. ARE. THOSE?

You’re flashy, you’re explosive, you’re literally a chef on the court (with the exception of a number of his playoffs games), but I don’t think your creativity is quite there. I’ll admit I’m not a huge supporter of Under Armour products (sorry Temple), but at least the rest of your sneakers with them have color. I’m a fan, but for now, you and your sneakers are going to get cooked.

This is where social media gets fun. These sneakers have been called everything from the “Bible Study 4’s” to the “Let me speak to your manager 5’s”; placed in scenes of Forrest Gump and Life Alert commercials; worn by Bill Simmons and Seth Curry. Even little Riley doesn’t seem to impressed with them.

Naturally, Curry defended his sneakers. “If I had them in the road bag, I would have definitely worn them and showed you how fire they are.”

Would you really, Steph? Go ahead, wear them for Game 5. Just know that if your team loses, the roasting will continue.

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, Under Armour refused to comment on the memes. Hilarity at its finest.

I’m Kayla Nyree, and whatever will be, will be!

  • Kay
Leave a Reply

