Welcome (Back) to New York City

People tell me I’m crazy for taking on two internships and a job on top of all the writing I do. To be honest, they might be right.

Last week, I began my job at Madame Tussaud’s in the heart of Times Square. I honestly applied thinking I was in way over my head, but they called me the day after I sent in my application to do an impromptu phone interview. Now, I’m a guest experience host in The VOID, but I don’t want to spoil what it is exactly so you’ll just have to visit to figure it out.

Interning for sports journalist Shana Renee has been nothing but a learning experience. I have contributed four articles in a two-week span (which can all be found here) while working on my captions for @UnManningtheGame (go ahead and follow, our goal is 500 by September!). The commute Uptown is not around the corner, but I must admit, I’ve had fun taking and adjusting to public transportation.

This week is super hectic for me. When I’m not at my internship or at work, I’ll be covering two special sporting events- Steve Nash’s 9th Annual Showdown and the 2016 NBA Draft.

The Steve Nash Foundation hosts a celebrity soccer game annually and this year, he is going up against soccer pro Landon Donovan. The official roster hasn’t been posted yet, but all I know is I’ll be sitting with the rest of the media for interviews.

As for the NBA Draft, this will be my first time attending so I am on cloud nine. This year’s draft is looking dismal for the Knicks, who don’t have a pick (yet), but just being there is a once in a lifetime experience. I’ll be sure to give updates on both!

It’s been a month since I moved to New Jersey to challenge myself for the summer, and challenge is an understatement. I make a to-do list at the beginning of every week, but somehow, it always seems to get shuffled. But that’s the fun of it all, right? I get to explore New York City, build my resume, and eat delicious food in the process. I just keep telling myself that it will all be worth it in the end.

I’m Kayla Nyree, and whatever will be, will be!

  • Kay
Leave a Reply

