Keep Your Promises

By definition, a promise is “a declaration or assurance that one will (or will not) do a particular thing or that a particular thing will (or will not) happen.”

The original definition is positive, but I had to add the “will not” in there for one reason- promises are easy to make, but hard to keep.

Now this isn’t going to be a depressing post about how often somebody has broken a promise they’ve made me, but quite the opposite. I want to stress the importance of keeping a promise because it’s rare. From friendships to relationships to every day interactions, those pinky swears hold weight. Part of having a healthy relationship is understanding that everything is a two-way street. Once it becomes one-sided, rather one person isn’t holding up their end, everything changes.

You’re probably wondering what prompted me to write this. I’m big on superstition. I don’t “swear on my life” or “pinky promise” unless I know I can follow through. The last thing I want is for someone to say they can’t trust me because of a simple thing like a promise.

Despite what you all may think about me, good or bad, love or hate, there are a couple of things that I won’t do- eat raisins, sleep through the night, and make/break promises.

I pinky promise.

I’m Kayla Nyree, and whatever will be, will be!

  • Kay
Leave a Reply

